# February 7, 2023

# CALL TO ORDER:

The Tazewell County Electoral Board met in the General Registrar's office, 2848 Riverside Drive, North Tazewell, Virginia on Tuesday, February 7, 2023. The meeting was called to order by Chair, Irma Mitchell at 2:20pm. Present for the meeting was Director of Elections, Brian Earls, Chief Deputy Registrar, Alicia Kitts, Vice Chair, Richard Street and Secretary, Sherman Cain.

No members of the public were present to observe the meeting. An agenda of business items was presented to the board at the commencement of the meeting.

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

A motion to approve the minutes from the prior board meeting was made and seconded. The motion unanimously carried.

# OLD BUSINESS:

<u>VEBA</u>: Chief Deputy Registrar Alicia Kitts provided additional details on the upcoming Virginia Electoral Board Association annual meeting at the Hotel Roanoke March 26 through March 27, 2023. Arrangements for rooms have been secured at the host hotel for the Board members and registrar staff.

<u>RICHLANDS PRECINCT</u>: Director Earls updated the Board on the number of current voters registered at the Richlands precinct. After the recent list corrections, the number is just over 4800, comfortably below the 5000 maximum number permitted at a precinct.

# **NEW BUSINESS:**

<u>ELECTION OFFICIAL APPOINTMENTS</u>: Discussions resumed from the previous month's meeting regarding the length of a term for the officials. The recommendations made by the Director to reduce the term to two years from three years was made in the form of a motion, properly seconded and passed unanimously.

<u>TERM PRECINCT ASSIGNMENTS</u>: Chief Deputy Registrar Alicia Kitts proposal of permanent precinct assignments for the full term of each election official as previously discussed, was made in the form of a motion, properly seconded and passed unanimously.

<u>SPLIT SHIFTS</u>: A motion to do half day for half pay for those election officials who desire for whatever reason to work less that the full day was presented, properly seconded and passed unanimously.

<u>REAPPOINTMENTS</u>: The Board reviewed the expiring list of election officials and the precinct assignments recommended by the Chief Deputy Registrar. Following a brief discussion by the Board a motion was made to approve the list, properly seconded and passed unanimously. The following were approved:

Chloe Allen	Jennifer Childress	Melissa Gibson	Ric Jensen	Jason Moore	James Shannon
Marilyn Altizer	Lorie Christian	Ashley Gilbert	Susan Jessee	Michelle Moore	Amy Shortridge
Patricia Altizer	Debra Clifton	Daniel Gilbert	Christopher Johnson	Steven Mulvaney	Freda Shrader
Elizabeth Ballangee	Sandra Coleman	Michaelle Gravley	Morgan Keen	Marcia Munsey	Rebecca Simpsor
Kathy Barnette	Carolyn Coleman	Michael (JR) Hager	Vincent Keene	Sandra Musick	James Smith
SaraGrace Barton	Alesia Cook	Ronda Hale	Cecilia Latimer	Susan Nunley	Lydia St Peter
Rita Blevins	Dedra Cox	Nelda Harrison	Rebecca Lester	Joshua Parson	Wanda Stacy
Wayne Blevins	Pamela Cranfill	Russell Hatfield	Alta Lewis	Alice Pearce	Tina Strouth
Sparkle Bonds	Lisa Crouse	Wanda Hayes	Jacqueline Lewis	Betty Pendry	Jessica Sykes
Jacquelynn Boulden	Tonya Deel	Virginia Hearl	Jesse Lewis	Theordore Pruitt	William Tabor
Rebecca Bowman	Brenda Duty	Mary Heflin	Sharon Lowe	Alice Pruitt	Betty Talbert
Susan Bowman	Carl Duty	Angela Hicks	Crystal Lowe	Patty Ramage	Tommy Vestal
Melissa Brewster	Sandra Dye	Linda Hoagland	Dianna Lynch	Terri Rash	Cleressa Ward
Brandi Brewster	Jeniffer Dye-Gilbert	Patsy Holmes	Barbara Martin	Malcolm Rhudy	Brenda White
Edythe Brown	Sarah Elswick	William Holmes	Connie McGuire	Angela Riley	David White
Timothy Bruckner	Gregory Estoll	Nancy Holmes	Shawn McReynolds	Eunice Roark	Brenda Whited
Pamela Bruckner	Freda Evans	Bridget Honaker	Donal Meadows	Timothy Roark	Melissa Whited
William Bunch	Rosa Farris	Warren Hunt	April Mela	Julia Robinson	Cassaundra Wolfe
Kenneth Burkett	Edwin Fowlkes	Lucinda Irvin	Melinda Messer	Deborah Sargent	Phyllis Wolfe
Diane Cain	Sandi Fuller	Carolyn Jackson	Christopher Mitchell	Robert Shamblin	Kimberly Wolfe
Peggy Carr	Sharon Gemmell	Mary Jeffries	Charity Mitchell	Martha Shamblin	Cynthia Wright

LOCALITY ELECTION SECURITY STANDARDS: Director Earls provided the Board with details on the security standards being developed which the Electoral Board needs to sign off on by April 1, 2023. The development of the policy is a complicated and lengthy process involving the county IT department and others to satisfy the requirements. The Director is hoping to arrange a meeting with the involved parties, the Electoral Board and County Administrator as there are grave concerns with the outdated Windows 7 system currently in use.

## OTHER BUSINESS:

<u>NEXT MEETING DATE</u>: To be determined as a need arises.

<u>ADJOURMENT</u>: There being no further business a motion to adjourn was seconded and unanimously carried. The meeting concluded at 3:45pm.

Respectfully submitted:

Chairman

V ice-Chairman

Secretary